Maynard K. Hine


Maynard K. Hine

Indianapolis, Indiana — 1907-1996

Author, Leader, Scholar,
Innovative Pioneer in Dental Education

Dr. Maynard Kiplinger Hine was one of the nation’s most innovative pioneers in dental education, respected authorities in dental science, and distinguished leaders of organized dentistry.

Dr. Hine was the son of general practitioner Clyde Hine, of Tuscola, Illinois. Maynard was reared after his birth in Waterloo, Indiana, in DeKalb County. In addition to his dental degree (University of Illinois, 1930) Maynard earned an MS degree from the University of Illinois (1932). After practicing with his father for a while he pursued Carnegie (1935) and Rockefeller (1936) fellowships at the University of Rochester in New York. He then returned to the University of Illinois as a teacher of oral pathology for eight years.

Dr. Hine joined the IU faculty as head of oral histopathology and periodontics in 1944; a year later he was appointed dean—a position he held for 23 years, longer than any other dean in the history of the IU dental school or its predecessor, the Indiana Dental College.

During his tenure as dean, the IU dental school underwent enormous growth, developing a reputation for excellence for its academic and research programs in such areas as clinical dentistry and materials science, the latter of which flourished under the guidance of the late Ralph W. Phillips. Dr. Hine recruited to the IU faculty such luminaries in dental education as oral pathologist William G. Shafer, prosthodontist John F. Johnston, and periodontist Timothy J. O’Leary. Dr. Hine established IU’s dental hygiene program in 1950 and the Department of Endodontics in 1953.

As American Dental Association president, in 1965-66, Dr. Hine was a strong advocate of water fluoridation programs, and he was committed to improving the oral health of children. He presided over dedication ceremonies when the ADA moved into its new building on East Chicago Avenue in 1966.

Shortly after Dr. Hine retired as IU’s dean of dentistry in 1968, he was appointed first chancellor of the Indiana University—Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) campus. He served in the position from 1969 to 1973.

Dr. Hine established and served as first president of the American Fund for Dental Health. He was a former president of many organizations, including the International Association for Dental Research, American Association of Endodontists, American Association of Dental Schools, American Association of Dental Editors, American Academy of Periodontology, Federation Dentaire Internationale, and American Academy of the History of Dentistry. He had been a vice president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a chair of its dental section.

In the Hoosier state Dr. Hine served as president of the Indiana State Dental Association (now the Indiana Dental Association) and the Indianapolis District Dental Society. He also presided over the Central Indiana Council on Aging, and chaired the executive board of the Indiana State Board (now Department) of Health.

Dr. Hine was a founder diplomat of the American Board of Endodontics and a diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology.

The co-author of five books, including one of the best known and most highly regarded dental texts in history—Shafer Hine and Levy’s A Textbook of Oral Pathology—Dr. Hine also served as editor of the Journal of Periodontology from 1950 to 1970.

Dr. Hine received numerous honorary doctoral degrees and other types of citations and recognition throughout his life. He held Gold Medal awards from the American Academy of Periodontology and the Pierre Fauchard Academy; distinguished service awards from the ADA, IDA, and Thomas P. Hinman Society; a Williams J. Gies award from the American College of Dentists; an Edgar D. Coolidge award from the American Association of Endodontists; honourary membership in the American Academy of Dental Science; and honourary fellowships in the Royal College of Surgeons (Ireland), the Philippine College of Oral Surgeons, and the Royal College of Dentists of Canada. In 1974 Indiana University created the Maynard K. Hine Award to honour individuals for outstanding contributions to the alumni association on the Indianapolis campus. Many other IU research and scholarship awards and programs are named in his honour.

Dr. George K. Stookey, now a Distinguished Professor Emeritus at Indiana University, was serving as acting dean of the IU dental school at the time of Dr. Hine’s death. “Recognized worldwide for his remarkable vision for the dental profession as well as his outstanding leadership, Dr. Maynard K. Hine developed the Indiana School of Dentistry into one of the leading dental schools in the world,” Dr. Stookey said in 1996. Hine’s name, Stookey said, became synonymous with Indiana University, the School of Dentistry, and excellence in both teaching and research.

In a career that spanned nearly seven decades, Dr. Hine, professor emeritus periodontics, Indiana University, remained ardently committed to the dental profession until the end of his life.

One hundred years after his birth in Waterloo, Indiana it is an honour to induct Maynard K. Hine into the Pierre Fauchard Academy International Hall of Fame of Dentistry.